Bookmark this page

Learn More about the Region of Durham

The Regional Municipality of Durham was created January 1, 1974 as a Regional Government in the Province of Ontario under The Regional Municipality of Durham Act, 1973 of the Ontario Legislature.
The Act provided for the formation of the eight area municipalities by the annexation and amalgamation of twenty-one former local municipalities in the Counties of Ontario, Northumberland and Durham, excluding a small portion of the former Township of Pickering, which was annexed by Metropolitan Toronto.

The Regional Municipality of Durham includes the following eight Area Municipalities (in no particular order):

  • The City of Oshawa
  • The City of Pickering
  • The Town of Ajax
  • The Town of Whitby
  • The Municipality of Clarington
  • The Township of Brock
  • The Township of Scugog
  • The Township of Uxbridge

Learn more about the Regional Municipality of Durham