Bookmark this page
Durham Region Roundtable on Climate Change

The Durham Region Roundtable on Climate Change
Committee Information

The Durham Region Roundtable on Climate Change (DRRCC) is an initiative that aims to position the Region of Durham as a leader in addressing climate change issues.

The DRRCC's mandate focuses on three areas:

  • Outreach: assist all stakeholders within the Region to address climate change in their respective practices and operations;
  • Advocacy: make recommendations with respect to policy positions that Regional Council could adopt and/or take forward to other levels of government and government agencies to address climate change; and
  • Education: continually improving knowledge and understanding of climate change.

DRRCC membership and staff support for term 2014-2018
DRRCC membership and staff support for term 2014-2018


DRRCC meetings are open to the public and are held on the second Friday of each month, excluding July and August. Meetings are held from 1-3pm at Durham Regional Headquarters, 605 Rossland Rd. E., Whitby, Room LL-C (located on the lower level). View the Regional Meetings Calendar for more information.

The DRRCC is composed of 14-19 members as follows:

Regional Chair ex-officio


Regional Councillors, one from each of the four Regional standing committees


Chief Administrative Officer


Citizen members




The DRRCC members are as follows:

Regional representatives




Regional Chair

Chair Roger Anderson


Finance & Administration Committee

Councillor Kevin Ashe

Councillor Adrian Foster

Health & Social Services Committee

Councillor Derrick Gleed

Councillor David Pickles

Planning Committee

Councillor Don Mitchell

Councillor Steve Parish

Works Committee

Councillor Jack Ballinger

Councillor John Grant

Chief Administrative Officer

Gary Cubitt

Brian Bridgeman

Citizen members


Affiliation / background

Cesar Caneo

Food security sector
Director of Operations, The Nourish and Develop Foundation and Executive Member, Durham Food Policy Council

Richard Gauder

Small business sector
Partner and co-founder of CMS Web Solutions Inc.

Dayna Gilbert

Community at large
Senior planner and urban and landscape designer

Todd Hall

Energy sector
Director, Auditing Association of Canada and Canadian Energy Efficiency Alliance, previous Director of Sustainable Development at Ontario Power Generation Inc.

Daniel Hoornweg

Education sector
Professor and Jeff Boyce Research Chair, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Chief Safety and Risk Officer, Province of Ontario, Advisor and Fellow, Sustainable Development Network at the World Bank

Eric Lacina

Environmental Technology, Durham College

Samantha Moore

Environmental Technology, Durham College

Hida Manns

Agriculture sector
PhD student, University of Guelph, specializing in soil organic carbon, family farmer

Barry Neil

Health sector
Director, Central East Community Care Access Centre, and member of the Region of Durham Nuclear Health Committee

Jeff Solly

Building sector
Land development operations, The Sorbara Group

Martin Vroegh

Large industry sector
Environment Manager, St. Marys Cement and Votorantim Cement North America, North American Cement Operations