

DEAC Environmental Achievement Awards

The DEAC Environmental Achievement Awards is an annual awards program established in 2003 to recognize and acknowledge environmental achievements of individuals and organizations in the public, private and non-profit sectors within Durham Region. The awards program has six categories, which were named in memory of past environmental leaders:

The **George A. Scott Stewardship Award**: This award is given to those whose efforts have helped maintain, protect and preserve our natural and/or agricultural environment.

The **Dr. J. Murray Speirs Restoration Award**: This award commends the work of those whose efforts have helped to restore and/or steward the natural environment.

The **Irene Kock Education/Communication Award**: This award is presented to those who foster effective communication, share knowledge and exhibit leadership in helping others learn about the natural environment.

The **Eric Krause Innovative Plans/Policies/Initiatives Award**: This award is presented for forward-thinking and innovative efforts to encourage positive change with respect to the environment.

The **Jessica Markland Partnership Award**: This award recognizes the co-operative efforts of those who strive to enhance the environment by building partnerships with public, community and private interests.

The **Evylin Stroud Lifetime Achievement Award**: This award recognizes individuals who continually promote the protection of the environment through small, but meaningful ways.

Nomination forms are available each year in January by contacting deac@durham.ca and completed nominations must be received at the Region of Durham's office by the published deadline.